Help center

Share a map with your imported data

Feature available for all plans: Free โ€“ Up to 100 pins | Essential โ€“ Up to 1,000 pins | Pro โ€“ Up to 10,000 pins

You can share a smappen map on which you have added data. There are several possibilities, depending on the sharing option you choose :

Share your map with modification rights with another Smappen user

1 โ€“ Click on the share icon at the top left of the map

2 โ€“ In the pop-up window, in the 2nd section โ€œAllow a user to modify the mapโ€, add the email addresses of smappen users with whom you want to be able to edit the map

About your data :

  • The map will be shared with the dataset you have added to it.
  • The user added to the map will have the same rights as you on this dataset, on the map:
    โ€“ Visualize pinpoints and the claculation features (sum and average)
    โ€“ Download results within an area or on the entire map
    โ€“ Delete the dataset from the map
    โ€“ Share the map with another user
  • However, you remain the owner of this dataset, which means that :
    โ€“ The added user will not be able to add that dataset on his own maps
    โ€“ If the dataset is deleted from the map (e.g. by the added user), it will not be deleted from your account. Therefore, you will be able to add it again, on that map or another one.

Share the map link with a smappen user

1 โ€“ Click on the share icon at the top left of the map

2 โ€“ In the 1st section โ€œShare link to this mapโ€, click on โ€œPublic mapโ€ to share it.
Please note : by making your map public, you also give access, to people who have that link, to the imported data you have added to the map.

3 โ€“ Then click on โ€œCopyโ€ to copy the link and share it easily by e-mail or message.

About your data :

  • The map will be shared with the dataset you have added to it.
  • The recipient of the map will have limited actions on the datasets:
    โ€“ Visualize the pinpoint, countand the calculation features (sum and avergae)
    โ€“ Re-share the map link to a third party with the associated imported dataset
  • The map recepient wonโ€™t be able to :
    โ€“ download your mapโ€™s dataset
    โ€“ Delete the dataset from the map
  • Please note : if the user to whom you share the map edit it (creates an area, rename an area, a folder, the map, creates a company search, adds a dataset), the map you have shared with him will be duplicated on his account. Therefore he will lose access to your dataset.
Updated on February 2, 2024